Skip to content

Stage Ten - Ascent

The 12 Stages of Healing

Whether you’re suffering from physical, mental or emotional pain and are seeking to get on the healing path, we invite you to read our latest blog series, ‘The 12 Stages of Healing.” The series starts with Stage 1, which is Suffering and ends with Stage 12, Community. Our doctors share their wisdom and encouragement to help you move through each stage toward achieving the healing you seek. Each blog concludes with a special breathing exercise and affirmation for that stage of healing.

woman with arms out at beachThe Stage Ten experience dissolves our sense of self as separate from the rest of the world. The tenth stage of healing is the ascent stage. Although not the highest stage of healing, it is the most sought after. For those of us seeking spiritual enlightenment, healing, or a sense of connectedness with all of creation, the consciousness and rhythms of Stage Ten are usually the highest expressions of what we are seeking. For those of us who have moved through the previous nine stages of healing, Stage Ten is the “reward” for our efforts. It is the stage when we relinquish our sense of self completely and merge with Universal Consciousness. As a result, we open ourselves to new realms of existence. Our sense of self can be viewed as a candle. Up to this point in the healing process, we may have a very bright candle, shining with the light of our being. In our previous stage of healing, we become aware that there is a bright light outside. If we walk outside into the brilliance of the noon sun, it appears that our candle is no longer lit. This is the concept of how our sense of self is relinquished in the vast brightness of the Universal Consciousness of Stage Ten.

Being The Light

In this stage of healing, we transcend time, as if it no longer exists. We also transcend space, as if we are no longer aware of where we are. In Stage Ten, there are no more polarities and dualities. It is no longer us and the universe because we feel that we are the universe. We feel our connectedness to the wind, the light, the rain, and the earth. We also feel deeply connected to every living thing. By the time we reach the Ascent stage, our consciousness has expanded to such a degree that it encompasses everything. There is no separation between ourselves and everything around us. In Stage Ten, there is no light versus darkness because there is only light. Everything we contact enriches us. In Ascent, images, visions, memories, and insights may pass before us. Tones may be heard; sensations may be felt.

No Expectations

For some reason, those who are consciously seeking transformative spiritual experiences often have much work to do in the earlier stages before transformation is possible. As a result, they often return again and again to the earlier stages after briefly glimpsing Stage Ten. By contrast, those who fully experience their sense of self in the earlier stages, without considering the idea of peak or mystical experiences, often find it very easy to achieve that experience. It almost always comes as a surprise. In the twelve stages of healing, surrendering ourselves fully to the stage we are in empowers us to move to whatever stage is necessary for our healing at exactly the right time.

Flowing Through Stage Ten

In the Ascent stage of healing, there are many methods that can enhance our experience, yet they are best discovered instinctively. The methods, techniques or practices we choose will naturally lead to a life of acceptance of our humanity and the natural world around us. Some of the most enlightened modern mystics and humanitarians always went to nature for inspiration and enlightenment.

Clear Channels With The Divine

In Stage Ten, people often receive wisdom from the spirit realms and attribute names to their sources, such as God, Buddha, Allah, or Christ. Others refer to spirit guides or discarnate philosophers, musicians, or scientists. Receiving wisdom directly from the spirit realms is nothing new. After this connection is made, what we do with the insight is of great importance. Although we can communicate in Stage Ten, our internal communication is through light, tone, breath, and movement. Information we receive in this stage must be communicated through the consciousness of another stage. The expression of Stage Ten’s pure consciousness can only be understood and communicated when our consciousness is clear enough, integrated enough, and expanded enough to perceive the totality of the message. For this reason, communicating the infinite reality of Stage Ten to others is often fragmented and partial.

With each stage of healing, we gain access to a larger “keyhole” through which we broaden our perspective of the world. In Stage Ten, we experience a quantum leap in expanding our view of reality, ourselves, and of the universe. The challenge is to take the Stage Ten perspective and view it through an even larger keyhole, thus providing a greater vision. This is what happens when we move into Stage Eleven.

Stage Ten Exercise

Lie on your back with your legs bent, feet on the floor. As you breathe in through your mouth, gently raise your hips off the floor and tilt your head back gently until your chin is pointing up. While you do this, raise your arms and join your hands in front of your forehead in a classic gesture of prayer. Drink in air with your mouth, making the sound of the wind as you breathe.

As you breathe out through your mouth, lower your hips and lower your hands, yet maintain their praying position. Your fingers will now be pointing between your legs. As you connect with the rhythm of this stage (which is likely to be within one minute when you are truly in Stage Ten), your body may tend to arch in response to your union. Repeat as often as you wish. Rest for at least 15 minutes after this exercise. Your reality will be truly altered, and a few moments’ time to integrate your experience is necessary before going back to your routine.

Stage Ten Declarations

Since words are not easy at this stage, resonating with the concept of “I am One” spontaneously occurs as you embrace Stage Ten.

There’s Magic In A Healthy Spine!

The 12 Stages of Healing

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12


Add Your Comment (Get a Gravatar)

Your Name


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.